Time zone differences between Uruguay and the rest of South America

By Karen A Higgs
Reloj by Christian Córdova
Last updated on August 3, 2015

The Uruguayan government has decided NOT observe daylight savings time from July 2015.

So if you’re coming here from Argentina there’s no need to change your time display as there was previously.

However a number of other South American countries observe daylight saving time, so if you are coming to Uruguay from one of our South American neighbours, check the time, especially if you bought your travel tickets in advance.

Reloj by Christian Córdova
Old Father Time in the Port Market, Montevideo. Photo: Christian Córdova

Which other countries in South America change their clocks?

Brazil (except for equatorial Brazil) observes DST.  So if you are coming from Rio or Sao Paulo, there will be a time difference but not if you are coming from Salvador, Fortaleza or other cities in the north.

Uruguay observed DST from 2006 to early 2015. In the second half of 2015, the government has decided to put an end to daylight savings following pressure from the restaurant sector (link in Spanish).

Argentina dabbled with DST but currently does not observe it.

Chile appears to vary when it adjusts the hour year by year (Chileans, please correct me if I am wrong).

The South American countries observing daylight saving are marked in yellow on this map.

Other useful links on time zones and differences in Uruguay




2 Responses

  1. I was having difficulty understanding the various times for the three cities on my itinerary, Columbus (Ohio), Buenos Aires, and Montevideo for November. The site at the link you provided above indicates there is no time difference between BA and MV. What is up with that?

    1. Hi Rob, currently there is no time difference between Uruguay and Argentina because we are in winter.

      However the Uruguayan government has just decided NOT to change the hour this year (for the first time since 2007). So later this year there will be no time difference between Argentina and Uruguay, as there has been in previous years. Best — Karen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related articles

The story of the Andes plane crash survivors is one of the great human survival stories of the Twentieth Century.

Andes 1972 Museum

The museum, in Montevideo, honours the survivors of the Andes plane crash. Yes, one of the greatest survival stories of the 20th century is Uruguayan.

Copy link